Wild Rose – First Stage

I spent most of New Years Day (and much of the night) working on this embroidery project and watching a Stargate marathon on my DVD player. Both were quite enjoyable.

Wild Rose is an embroidery project using a technique that is sometimes called “needle painting”. This is a combination of long/short stitches with split stitch to create something that can be quite realistic. This is for a friend in my parish, and it was to have been a Christmas present. Well, that didn’t happen, but it shouldn’t take me much longer to finish it. Since it is too cold for me to bike, it isn’t too cold for me to stitch 🙂

With the spinning classes and training sessions I don’t have as much free time on my hands for stitching, but I am finding a new enjoyment of it – perhaps due to the very reason that I don’t have much time to work on it. So I am making the most of what time I have! I also hope to start making progress on the Epigination I am supposed to be working on as well.

3 thoughts on “Wild Rose – First Stage

  1. Mimi says:

    That’s gorgeous! Wow!
    Thanks for stopping by, hugs! You rock! A blessed new year to you!

  2. Athanasia says:

    Thank you for sharing this beautiful work. I have just picked up my counted cross stitch after a very long hibernation period. It is nice to be back at it again, though the challenge of bi-focals makes stitching a challenge. I hope to, someday, try my hand at blackwork.

  3. Meg says:

    This is *lovely*! Thanks for the look!

Comments are closed.