I took the plunge!

I can’t believe that I have done this, but I ordered a new bicycle today through a local bike shop. You can see it here, it is the Trek 7.6 FX WSD (women specific design).  I am excited about this, even if I won’t be able to do much riding before March. I got a great price on it and I have a great instructor to help me get up to speed.

My anti-diabetes campaign has given me little time for needlework these days. I am working with a personal trainer and attending 3 spin-cycling classes a week and am making great progress. After years of a very sedentary lifestyle, I’ve a lot of work to get into proper shape for some serious road cycling this coming summer – and to hopefully push back the diabetes specter. Even if this doesn’t work, in the end, I will know that I have done everything in my power to prevent it. Sure the cycling is part of it, but it is also for joy and a way to explore the world without being separated from it by metal and high speed.

I may start another blog for cycling as this progresses, or just do that here. Time will tell 🙂

2 thoughts on “I took the plunge!

  1. Mrs. Mutton says:

    I didn’t know you had diabetes, but the bike sounds like a good (and a fun) way to combat it. Good luck, and many years with your new “steed”!

  2. Catrin says:

    I am “pre-diabetic”, and am hoping that my level of exercise and proper diet will keep it that way at worst – or reverse it at best. Even if it doesn’t work I will have at least tried and I am really enjoying myself along the way 🙂

Comments are closed.