Night Flight – Progress report

I love this design, but it is HUGE. I had to do something or it will never be completed. So I have greatly edited the design for the bottom half of this design. While still large, about a foot has been deleted from the bottom half – or at least close to it. I decided where the rocks would go, and will decide the stitches.  So the final design will be a combination of the original designer and my own edits and… errr…. customizations. Yeah, customization is a good word! There is the matter of a small problem with the moon that I didn’t catch until it was much too late, can’t for the life of me figure out what to do there. I am NOT about to rip that part out and re-do it as that is far too dangerous. Any thoughts?

EditedNightFlight

5 thoughts on “Night Flight – Progress report

  1. Mrs. Mutton says:

    What happened with the moon??? That does look strange. Otherwise, it looks fine, and I’m sure your edits will be seamless.

  2. Catrin says:

    The moon kind of expanded on the bottom edge, close to the wing. I think someone must have broken into my apartment and did this while I was at work – for I surely would not have done such a thing 🙂

    Obviously I am not complete yet, I still have a fair amount of stitching to do. I have some thoughts of the different stitches that I will use to give some nice texture to the rocks in the foreground and the land behind it.

    I do have a thought of how to repair the expanded moon – I just have to do it carefully. I can’t remove those stitches, it is too dangerous – so I must stitch OVER them – if I use the right fiber it should give a most interesting effect. Kind of like a cloud behind the moon sort of thing. The problem is that the moon has been stitched in a metallic….

  3. Mrs. Mutton says:

    Oh, you’re a riot — I was talking about the speckled effect in the moon, and never even noticed that the moon had “expanded”!

  4. Catrin says:

    The speckled effect in the moon is quite nice in person, it doesn’t seem to photograph so well 🙂 It is a mixture of a simple continental stitch in a fine metallic braid with differing size squares in silk floss.

  5. Mimi says:

    Bwahahahahahahaha, I’m sure that is what it was, grin

    I think it looks fabulous.

Comments are closed.