Lowering of the Hammer

The “hammer” of health, that is!

Apparently I am either pre-diabetic, or in the early stages of diabetes. My doctor is unsure which, but one of the two is certain. I do not want diabetes – none in their right mind WOULD, it is a terrible progressive disease that is difficult to live with. However, I am still at the stage where it is possible to have a strong impact and either reverse the course, or at least make things slow down and be more manageable in the long run. Those two words that we all hate to hear our doctors use – eat properly and exercise – I am under doctor’s orders to lose 28 pounds..

But HOW to lose that weight? Outside of occasional exceptions, I do not eat much, and indeed have gained a little weight! Surely I have a slow metabolism, right?

Nope! Yesterday my doctor put me on a machine that is meant to detect my “resting metabolism rate”, and to help determine the optimum range of calories I need to eat for weight loss. Much to my great surprise, my metabolism is FASTER than normal! My doctor tells me that I am not eating enough to lose weight, and assigned me a 1400-1500 calorie range for weight loss!

Now, my kind readers, this is not intuitive to me – eat more to lose weight??? Apparently women in particular can have this arise, if we are not getting enough calories (but not really starving) our bodies “thinks” that we might be in trouble and starts storing everything possible as fat.

So I’ve a caloric range of 1,400-1,500 calories a day, with a carb/protein/fat split of 45, 30,25. Time for the dietician. . .

4 thoughts on “Lowering of the Hammer

  1. Mrs. Mutton says:

    This does not surprise me at all, since as you know, I also have a weight problem, and I need to lose a LOT more than 28 lbs! The funny thing has been that when I go to Jordanville, I always eat like a horse, including all the sweets that they always have out for the students, and I always lose 5 or so lbs. Well, this year they had a new cook who was horrible — we ate a lot of starchy food, and not very many sweets at all, and I didn’t lose an ounce, in fact, I gained!

    I really think I weigh so much because my husband is always watching everything I put into my mouth, so I don’t eat enough — I know I’m eating way less than I used to, so why doesn’t it come off? Your doctor’s advice certainly rings true with my own experience.

  2. Catrin says:

    Tell him to keep his eyes on his own plate ๐Ÿ™‚ All of this has been rather a surprise to me, though I do remember hearing something about this in the past. So now I am trying to follow the guidelines and it really feels like I am eating too much… We will see what happens over the next month ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Rissa says:

    When I first started weight watchers, I was eating more on a daily basis than before I started the program. It was crazy. Then my weight loss stalled and it turns out that it was because I was exercising more and eating less…I filled in the gap with healthy things, like nuts! ๐Ÿ™‚

    The thing I have done that has done more to affect my insulin sensitivity is exercise. I regularly exercise for more than an hour, but I stepped it up and started doing the elliptical. I regularly exercise enough to deplete all of my on board glucose. Because of my kind of thyroid disease, I have to do more than a healthy person.

  4. Catrin says:

    A friend of mine reminded me that I had a hysterectomy last summer and both ovaries were also removed. Also, my thyroid was removed something like 23 years ago – she made this point while encouraging me to get a referral to an endocrinologist who specializes in diabetes and would understand the metabolic consequences from my surgery last year and the thyroid side of things.

    Thanks for your comment – I am really taking advantage of my gym membership – and they make it easy to go.

Comments are closed.