Blackwork Cross

Blackwork Cross

This probably is a record for me to complete an entire embroidery project. This was stitched for Anna, and I started this last Thursday, 4 days before her death. I completed it the day after…

Anna always found Blackwork embroidery to be mysterious, and there is something to that. On one hand it is very simple, a single strand of floss that is used to make geometric shapes that fill, and make, other shapes. She did get to see it in progress though, and my rush to complete it means that there are mistakes in the pattern. Some are intentional, a couple are not 🙂 However, I shall not fix them.  Her husband will recieve this as soon as I have framed it properly.

May her memory be eternal!

4 thoughts on “Blackwork Cross

  1. Mrs. Mutton says:

    It’s beautiful, and I wouldn’t fix them, either. There was a reason for rushing so much that you made mistakes.

    Did you use backstitch or Holbein stitch? Just curious. I have always loved the lacey effect of blackwork, and this cross does it full justice.

    Praying for her husband, and for you — it’s so hard to say goodbye to someone you love, even if that goodbye is temporary.

  2. Catrin says:

    The stitch is , mainly, double-running stitch. Except where I did backstitch 🙂

    Please do pray for her husband, Ken. I am sad about her death, yes, but peaceful. It is hard to believe that we can’t go walking anymore, or have a cup of tea together. We will all miss her, she was certainly one of a kind!

  3. Liadain says:

    Everlasting memory!

    It is a beautiful cross; I wouldn’t fix the “originalities” in the pattern either. I hope it will bring joyful remembrances to her husband.

  4. Mimi says:

    It is beautiful, and what quick work you did!
    May Anna’s Memory be Eternal.

Comments are closed.