Night Flight Update

Please see the earlier post for the last photo of Night Flight. I love this design, it is an Amy Bear design and while some of her designs at least approach that “cute” category, this one does not. Please note that this is only about 1/3 complete, and will likely take me at least another year to finish. I am waiting for a design to start another liturgical embroidery project, and all other embroidery projects will once again be set aside when that comes. Of course, that depends when it comes, the last time I waited for almost a year to get the design 🙂

One of the things I love about Amy Bear’s needlpoint designs is the sheer multiplicty of stitches that she uses! That doesn’t mean I don’t “tweak” the stich used for a section if I think it neccessary, but the array of stitches adds texture and visual appeal to the project. This is NOT the needlepoint from the 1960s!

Please note that this has a companion piece, that one is called “Sunset” and is the mirror image of this piece, but the colors chosen are that of sunset, and a different palate of stiches were chosen. I will not do that project, I find the colors in that project less appealing.

2 thoughts on “Night Flight Update

  1. Mimi says:

    I agree, the blues are so soothing, I’d not like it as much in the yellows or oranges.

  2. Catrin says:

    I agree, the companion piece is in reds and oranges – better than yellows but still… You cannot tell from this image, but the completed project will be close to 3 feet tall – that is a LOT of stitching, and a lot of time – I prefer soothing colors for such a large project. Most of the time at least 🙂

Comments are closed.