Heart of a home – prayer and work

It’s been a long time since I’ve been able to have any time for needlework. It is most enjoyable while it lasts! I had forgotten how much I enjoy it and hope to be able to adjust my schedule enough once I am back to both jobs full time so I can have at least a few minutes set aside for sharp pointed objects with holes in them πŸ™‚

What is the heart of a home? For some households it could be said that it is the kitchen, or the dining room table. For those with families, this makes perfect sense – we are taught that our home is indeed an microcosm of the Church, and of course that table around which families gather to pray and to break bread together can be the heart of the home. If it is an Orthodox Christian family, then chances are there is at least a small icon corner at which the family meets for prayer, and that is certainly another heart of the home.

But what if there is no family? What about those Orthodox households in which there is only one person? Where is the heart of the household there? The answer is even easier – though it must be stated that we are NEVER alone, which is one of the wonderful things that our Orthodox faith never ceases to remind us.

I like to think that my apartment has TWO centers, though one is vastly more important than the other. The first is, of course, my icon corner – this is where I pray, and read, and sometimes just “sits and thinks”. This is a private place within my apartment that is located outside of public view and few people ever see.

The second “center” (a loose term), is far more public and, alas, not used near as much as the more private icon corner. However, it is a very special place as well, and as all special places, there are special needs in order to make it most useful. This would be, of course, where the needlework is done – as referenced by the comment above on sharp pointed objects with holes in them πŸ™‚ Here is a picture – and also a nice way to show off my new and quite special floor lamp!

Needlework area

Needlework area

Doesn’t look like much, does it? A wooden rocking chair, a floor-stand frame holder for those projects I need both hands for, and a brand new Mighty Bright LED floor stand with magnifier (which does a fantastic job, I might add). Why, look at all of that empty floor space? That’s good, it means it is easy to find all of those threads and other supplies that get strewn around in the process of working. It doesn’t look like a second center of my apartment, does it? Appearances can be deceptive πŸ™‚

So tell me – here or on your own blog – what is the center of YOUR home? Is there more than one?

5 thoughts on “Heart of a home – prayer and work

  1. Kyriaki says:

    I live at home with my family, but they’re not Orthodox. So…I have two icon corners, sort of. The nice looking one is set up in a corner of the living room (my family think it looks pretty and I keep weird hours so I usually have privacy to pray) and a smaller one by my bed because I end up here sick a lot.

    My stand, lamp and couch for stitching are another centre…but really our big living area is the heart of our home. The kitchen, dining room and living room is all open plan and our main door opens from the outside into it, so that is as close to a heart as we get. And it has my icon corner and stitching place in it too!

  2. Mimi says:

    It looks lovely!

    I have an icon corner in our bedroom, I have a non-Orthodox spouse, and that is where we compromised on having it, and I like to lay in bed and see it.

    And, my couch where I do a lot of reading.

  3. Meg says:

    When the kids were home, the kitchen was indeed the heart of our home, but now that they have moved away, the kitchen is mostly just where I prepare food, and we eat in the living room, which is very much the heart of our home. Rather sad, really, but the kitchen just doesn’t feel right without all the other people who used to be a part of it.

    I have an icon “corner” in every room of the house except the bathroom, but the main icon corner is in the living room, very up-front and visible. I don’t exactly pray in it, but rather opposite it — my chair is diagonally opposite the icon corner, and ever since falling down a flight of stairs six years ago, it’s been difficult for me to stand for long periods of time without some kind of support, so I tend to pray standing only until, “O come let us worship,” and then I park myself in my chair.

    I’m very interested in your stitching corner, because I don’t see where you keep your threads and patterns. When I stitch, I keep a table next to me with all my threads laid out on it, and my floor frame has a pattern holder — I can see I’ll have to post pics on my blog, if it will accept them. Where do you keep your “working materials” when you’re stitching?

  4. Catrin says:

    Meg,

    I MAY post a picture next time of my stitching corner in progress – it gets rather messy πŸ™‚ Living alone, I tend to have needlework stuff stored in different places as I do not have a single storage unit large enough for everything. I don’t have all that much furniture (I like it that way), so I must be creative.

    Monday I will probably post a couple of pictures showing the progress of my two current projects – and I am indeed making some!

  5. Kyriaki says:

    Thanks for the comment – yes it’s a Solaria gallery icon. πŸ™‚ It’s slow but steady.

    I have a penchant for over 1 if you’d noticed – froggy is over 1 too πŸ™‚

    Kitties say hello and thankyou for liking the photos of us.

    Happy feast of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross! We had a beautiful DL this morning, here down under.

Comments are closed.