Forest – New Shadow work project



Forest – Start

Originally uploaded by ckostyn

This is different from any embroidery I’ve done in the past! The ground fabric is a fully transparent silk organza, and the marks are the design that I drew on the fabric. I had to put some paper underneath the fabric so you could see the design!

True shadow-work is reversable – which means that traditionally it is mounted or hung in such a way that both sides may be seen. Most of the work is actually done on the reverse side, and the colors are seen through the transparent fabric. The stitch used is a Herringbone stitche (which is basically a back-stitch) that creates the reversability of shadow-work. I suspect that this will go pretty quickly once I get the hang of it šŸ™‚

More posts and pictures as it progresses!

2 thoughts on “Forest – New Shadow work project

  1. Mimi says:

    Wow, I love the way this looks undone, I can’t wait to see it done! and, along the way!

  2. Mrs. Mutton says:

    And *I* am dying to see reversible embroidery! Good luck with this — it sounds fascinating.

Comments are closed.