Flowers at the Tomb

As I promised on Meg’s blog (Muttonings) here are a few pictures taken in our church today before I started cleaning up from last night before Agape Vespers this afternoon. The lights had not yet been turned on, so the lighting wasn’t so great. I could have retaken them later, but just didn’t remember to do so. Please click on the images to go to a larger version so you can see more detail.

Before you look further, there are MUCH better photographs on our parish website – which is found here.

Empty Tomb 2

This shot was taken from the floor in some odd attempt to be artistic. Hmmm that didn’t seem to work really well, so let’s try this again.

I still don’t think you can really see how beautiful it actually is. If I can I will get a better shot with more light, though it may be the flowers are already fading. They don’t last long, sigh… We really perplexed a few floral supply houses with our search for white flowers! They are rather hard to find this late in the year and we didn’t have as many as we have had in the past.

Here are more pictures 🙂

I just like this picture, and you can see some of the beautiful flowers on the Iconstasis.

One last photo – and I like it though there isn’t much light. To me this shot of an empty Nave with no lights turned on seems like it is waiting for us to come and pray. There is also something about being in the Nave alone like this that makes me to remember that it is impossible to truly be alone in church – regardless of the time. I like to remember that we can’t see the spiritual hosts that attend to holy places – and surely more so on Pascha! I will try and remember to get a shot tomorrow, after the priest arrives and the lights are turned on, to see to difference. The light switches are in the altar…

Christ is Risen!

Christ is Risen!

Truly He is Risen!

Christ is Risen from the dead
Trampling down death by death
And upon those in the tombs
Bestowing Life

And to us He has granted Eternal Life
Let us worship His resurrection on the third day!

There is nothing that I can say to express the profound awe and joy of this most Holy of Days than the words from the Tropar that we will sing for the next 40 days – Pascha! May we all celebrate it in the never-ending day of the Kingdom.