What do you think of this?

The person who wrote this poem asked me not to identify her, but when she found out I have a blog she asked me to post this. SHE knows what she means here, but is curious to know if others get it – or WHAT they get from this poem. (I am not so sure that this IS a poem, but that is what she considers it). She is Orthodox, btw. If this isn’t a poem, what IS it?

So, here it is, I will pass any comments along her way:

 ____________________________________________________________________

Far in the distance fading to black
             chains clink
             keys ring
             chaos cackles

Closer in
           boredom waits (predictable)
           routine beckons (illusion of safety)
           distractions entice (delusion of control)

Directly ahead
           Mystery calls
           invisible spectators encourage
           Divine Fire awaits
           Tree of Life in sharp relief

She steps forward . . .

5 thoughts on “What do you think of this?

  1. Marlene says:

    I like this–and it is poetry.

    I immediately received several images here–all revolving around one woman or soul, standing at a crossroads in life.
    The first verse is the Darkness, Hades–where I found myself pulled backwards out of curiosity to the sounds of evil and the mystery of place. Why are we so drawn to such things as horror movies, murder mysteries, and such?
    The author does write that this place is “far in the distance”. Whew, I’m glad of that.
    In the central verse, I find the soul who is standing on his/her spot in time–maybe his life here on Earth, at the moment somewhat boring and without direction. This person reminds me of a young person or student (not unlike my 21 year old son I pray for) who hasn’t made a choice or found his purpose yet in life–a very dangerous place to be. His youthful pride begets false
    confidence in his own abilities.
    Aha- the concluding lines look forward –the images of The Church and its Sacraments, Angels, the Cross and the road ahead beckons…
    Hooray! She chooses to step forward into the Light!
    i wonder if the author has had some recent tough decisions to make in her life.
    God bless. I’ve been there–and haven’t we all.

  2. Catherine K. says:

    I will pass your comments on to the woman that wrote this. She isn’t a young person, but has had many difficult challenges in her life.

    What I get from hew poem is two things – we must be vigilant to keep from being overly caught up in the past OR present – there are different kinds of siren songs that the opposition – or our own passions- use to try to deter us from stepping forward into the light.

    She will be very glad that someone commented on her poem.

  3. Mary Lowell says:

    My immediate thought on reading … Oh, Eve, watch out!

  4. Mary Lowell says:

    Like to know if I “got it’.” Please ask author to comment. I love the layers of subtlety delivered with beauty, mark of a serious poet. I don’t mind being dead wrong and corrected for my ignorance. I know this not a contest!

    BTW, how may I send you another poem … if that’s an option?

  5. orthstitcher says:

    The poem was written by a woman who spent much of the first part of her life in abused relationships, rebellion and prison. With God’s help she worked hard for many years to change her life and eventually became an Orthodox Christian.

    She sees this poem as an overview of her entire life to date, the chaos of her first 30+ years, the great struggle to turn her life around, and the great gift of repentance and faith that has come in the years since then. She rarely writes poetry.

    This blog really has become inactive for now, I am just too busy to keep it up at this time, it is indeed night in the Stitching Garden for now. I just didn’t want to leave your question unanswered, and the woman who wrote the poem wanted me to post something about the poem itself. She appreciates the comments, and was glad to hear that it said something to those who commented on it.

Comments are closed.