Here is the embroidery for the large Aer

Large Aer Embroidery  

As you can see, this isn’t the entire Aer, but is the embroidery for the middle of it. It is difficult to see in this photo, but there are several rows of blue embroidery inside the smaller section of embroidery in the middle – so everything is tied together.

For those who may not know what an Aer is, Orthodox chalice covers are a set of three, the largest of which is tied over the priests shoulders during the Great Entrance during a Divine Liturgy. It has a different role in a Pre-Sanctified Liturgy, but I don’t want to confuse things here 🙂

The two smaller cloths are in the shape of a cross, and, God willing, I will actually cut those out this week. I have to be careful with that part as I only have enough brocade for the two cloths. No room for mistakes, and brocade isn’t cheap – and I doubt I could match the pattern of the current brocade so I would have to start all over again. . .

5 thoughts on “Here is the embroidery for the large Aer

  1. Meg says:

    I’m impressed!

    Will this be for a particular feast? All the blue makes me think of Feasts of the Theotokos, but the white cloth looks like a Paschal motif.

  2. Catherine K. says:

    The cloth is a brocade, and I liked the blue contrast. Traditionally white chalice covers, and vestments, are for Pascha and that is what this will be for.

  3. Mimi says:

    It’s so beautiful! Thank you for posting the completed photo!

  4. Juli says:

    Catherine –

    This is lovely! May it bring everyone who sees it closer to God! Bless you for doing work like this.

    Juli

  5. […]  I am embroidering this set of chalice covers for a Skete, and it has been requested that I only embellish the pattern in the brocade, not superimpose some other design over it.  That makes perfect sense, and that is what I did with the large Aer (see it here). […]

Comments are closed.