3 Projects at the same time?

Someone who reads this blog commented when we were talking on the phone the other evening that I am working on 3 projects at the same time.

Actually, if I were honest, it is probably double that – but there are several projects I haven’t worked on in a LONG time – and I do intend on changing that once I get through the current list of projects. God willing. Should I live that long 🙂

You see, there is the liturgical embroidery – that I am not yet ready to go back to until my spirit settles some more after the death of my stepfather a couple of weeks ago…

Tiramisu is a huge project, and the little work I’ve done on it so far tells me it will take quite some time to finish – and I have promised liturgical embroidery projects for TWO monastic sketes…. sorry Tiramisu, but liturgical emboidery takes presidence once I get back to it.

In the end, I think that there are lots of reasons for multiple projects. It isn’t to keep from being bored (I dare anyone to tell me that creating things of beauty could ever be boring!)… nor is it because I don’t have “better things to do” – for that isn’t the case either.

I think that it is the allure of learning new skills with which to use to create things of beauty – and what can be more beautiful than something that will be used in Orthodox worship? It seems to me that it is the end-purpose of the work that makes it beautiful – not what little effort I may have put into it. Does that make sense?

 Ok, I will stop pondering, and go pick up a needle – in the end – needle and thread is a much easier medium for me to express myself than words. I keep trying though 🙂

3 thoughts on “3 Projects at the same time?

  1. Mimi says:

    I tend to scrap more than one project at a time, so I understand. However, I only read one book at at time.

  2. Meg says:

    OK, let’s see where *this* post ends up… 😉 I also have four or five projects going, and it’s frustrating in the extreme. I don’t even have your very good excuse of learning new skills, since everything I’m involved in, is cross stitch (well, except for that little writing project). What I enjoy about cross stitch is seeing how the colors blend — I find I have a much better understanding of art, since getting involved in intricate cross stitch — but oy, how complicated life gets with more than one project going at once!

  3. Catherine K. says:

    I don’t read just one book at a time – generally I have two books going – however they are very different TYPES of books.

    Congrats Meg, your comment got attached to the right post twice in a row now 🙂 I suppose we will never know what happened to your earlier comments. I am glad that seems to be fixed.

    I feel kind of guilty that it is taking me so long to get some of this embroidery done – but then I console myself with the thought that there is a time and season for everything. . .

Comments are closed.