Brocade Chalice Covers

Christ is Born!
Glorify Him!

Has anyone pieced together a set of chalice covers from brocade? I am embroidering a set of chalice covers for a skete, and have been asked to piece the two smaller cloths together instead of just cutting one piece for the entire cloth. Orthodox liturgical brocade is very expensive (can be over $200/yard), so of course there should be no waste if at all possible.

I understand what’s being asked, but am trying to figure out how to do it in such a way that it won’t LOOK like it’s been pieced together…

3 thoughts on “Brocade Chalice Covers

  1. Meg says:

    I saw that you had asked this question over on Church Needleworkers, and can only assume that no one has ever attempted this. I certainly have not.

    Would it be possible for you to ask for an “older” set of chalice covers so you can take a look at how this is done? It would seem to me that the best way would be to cut out the square first and line it with whatever it’s lined with (one of the earliest posts on Needleworkers dealt with lining priest’s vestments with some kind of stiffening plastic, obtainable from the Amish), and then make the four side flaps to fit the four sides of the top, only they fan out slightly toward the bottom so that they meet around the base of the chalice and appear to cover it completely. I’d think you could cover the joining seams between top and sides with some kind of gold brocade, stitched with gold-colored thread so that you couldn’t see it was stitched on, and the chalice covers I’ve seen all have fringe all along the three open sides of the flap.

    Does that make any sense?!

  2. Catrin says:

    My issue is how to join them all, and I will just line them all at the same time, after joining, with satin. The brocade is a little heavier and a regular lining will stiffen it all that it needs.

    From what I’ve been told this is a common way to make them, using brocade, when you don’t wish to waste the expensive fabric – and I am assuming that none on the list have done it this way.

    Fr just told me to make sure the edges of the pattern matches when I join them, and just to stitch them together. The brocade is white, so white thread wouldn’t be visible.

    The fun part is to use embroidery to embellish the cross that is alreade there 🙂 The brocade is beautiful, and I want my work to enhance it, not to detract from it.

  3. Mimi says:

    I have no idea, but wanted to say Happy New Year!

Comments are closed.