Spring….

It is Spring in Speedway, Indiana… more importantly, it is the first Saturday in May and that means something happened today.

When you live in the Speedway, the Home of the Speedway International Speedway, May just doesn’t REALLY begin until that first Saturday in the month… this is the day of the Mini-Marathon!

The race begins in downtown Indianapolis, winds it’s way out to Speedway (yes, it really is a town that is separate from Indianapolis – though we are surrounded by Indianapolis on all sides), the runners take a lap around THE track, then everyone runs back downtown to complete the route.

Personally, I can come up with far better things to do on a beautiful and cool spring day in May, but for those who run they really DO enjoy the race. For those who live in the region, the Mini-Marathon is beginning of a month full of activities that build up until the end of the month, and it is time for the xth running of the Indianapolis 500.

Not being a racing fan, I like living in Speedway in spite of the race, not because of it. The month of May, however, is good for my creativity. You see, the track lies between me and church, between me and work, between me and pretty much everything… except….

except…….

my favorite local area needlework store! Yep… indeed if I actually stayed in town over Memorial Day weekend, there is little doubt in my mind that I would go to that store and spend money that particular weekend.

Pity for that store that I leave the state for Memorial Day weekend… but probably good for my check book 🙂

2 thoughts on “Spring….

  1. Mimi says:

    You are more than welcome to come visit Washington State on Memorial Day weekend, just so you know.

  2. Catrin says:

    I will add you to my list 🙂 I like Washington, there is some very pretty, and diverse, landscape there!

Comments are closed.