Group Correspondance Courses from the EGA

As I promised Meg, following are links to the GCCs I am taking from my chapter of the EGA.


EGA = Embroider’s Guild of America (I belong to Cyberstitchers, an online chapter that is very active and lots of training opportunites.

GCC = Group Correspondance Course (yes, you DO need to be a member of the EGA to take any of these wonderful correspondance courses, and there are also Individual Correspondance Courses that are just as beautiful… Membership isn’t that expensive πŸ™‚

This year I had a lapse of sanity and signed up for FOUR GCCs! Thankfully I am coordinating two of them, and one is a special pricing through my chaper, so my fees for all four are only about that for one full course. Will I finish all of the classes this year? Of course not! However I will have all the materials, and they will be completed.

Tiramisu – Reversable Blackwork (this is the real reason I plan on working on the Greek Cross blackwork project – to ramp up my skills before I get to this wonderful project)

GRRCIA – 3-D Dimensional Needlework (How can anyone resist Ms. Kitty? I will choose a different color family)

To the Acorn – an Acorn Sampler (that has a lot of new stitches for me to learn πŸ™‚

Luck of the Irish – a real Goldwork project – THIS is the one that will be completed this year (so I can have help from the instructor πŸ™‚ This uses techniques traditional to Orthodox liturgical goldwork – though of course a very different style – and I need the practice as I hope to eventually do something with goldwork for my parish.

So where does the lapse of sanity come in (aside from the fact that this is just TOO MANY projects when you combine them with everything else I have going? Three of the four projects listed above are in the 4th quarter of the year. Acorn is the only one that isn’t scheduled for that time period…

Oh well, this will give me plenty to do next winter, and next summer, and next winter and… you get the idea πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Group Correspondance Courses from the EGA

  1. Meg says:

    I took a look at all the course offerings, and they are all very tempting! Especially “Luck of the Irish” — I can see why you would want to learn this particular technique, and I must admit to being gravely tempted myself.

    It’s a shame, in a way, that stitchng takes so much time — you could start your own business with all that you will be learning!

  2. Catrin says:

    Well…. it’s kind of like this.

    I do needlework for the sheer love and joy of creating things of beauty for other people. Almost ALL of my projects goes to my parish, friends and family.

    It wouldn’t be near as much fun if it was my business – at least I don’t think so. Also people have no conception of the time involved in such projects (or the cost of the materials for some types of needlework) and would not be willing to pay what my time is worth…

    Better just to keep it as a hobby/pasttime and leave it at that πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.