Dawn approaching for the Stitching Garden?

Perhaps, perhaps not, I haven’t decided yet how active this blog will become. However I DID want to catch up those few who are still checking this site from time to time on my needlework progress.

I am working on a LOT of projects, which means none of them are being completed very quickly.

1. Chalice Cover set: I have completed the large Aer, but am awaiting the two smaller cloths from my priest so I can embroider them

2. All Things Bright and Beautiful – a cross-stitch sampler from Long Dog Designs (a French company)You can see her designs here, they are unusual – which they HAVE to be for me to consider working cross-stitch. There is nothing wrong with it, I just happen to find it somewhat boring after a period of time.

3. Have made little progress on the embroidered icon of Christ – unsure why, probably just not time to finish it yet. It is about 60% complete.

4. Night Flight, it can be seen here and is a very interesting and diverse needlepoint project. You might want to check out her other offerings. I do like non-geometric needlepoint, and she has some very interesting designs.

Projects I am considering – and indeed have already ordered the charts!

WindowPanes in Knotwork: Greek Cross Black work just isn’t in black any more πŸ™‚ This is a beautiful piece that has an Orthodox Cross front and center!

Also

Getting Lost in a Blackwork Maze
: This is another blackwork piece and has me very curious as well.

I have a very busy schedule and probably shouldn’t have so many projects on the side – but this is how I stay sane πŸ™‚ I find needlework very relaxing and calming, it also gives me a good excuse to to just sit and think and, at times, listen to good music. It’s a good thing I rarely, ever watch television – who has time for it πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Dawn approaching for the Stitching Garden?

  1. Meg says:

    I would be very interested to see any or *all* of these projects, especially any of the Orthodox Needlework you are doing. A couple of comments:

    1) I can see that “All Things Bright & Beautiful” will keep you busy for awhile!! WOW!! I have a couple of her crosses, Rosemarkie and St. Sylvestre, and am hoping to incorporate them into some of the liturgical embroidery I plan to do over the summer.

    2) Those blackwork projects look so intricate! I happen to love blackwork, and I suspect that my next ecclesiastical project will be some form of blackwork (which, come to think of it, is basically what Rosemarkie and St. Sylvestre are).

    3) Not surprised at your lack of progress on the Blessing Christ. I took out my Golden Tikhvin Theotokos at the beginning of Lent, worked about five stitches, and put it back again — I have a real problem with 22-count fabric. I have since bought a magnifying glass and will take one more stab at this icon, and if it still doesn’t work with the magnifier, I’ll scrap the whole thing and start over on 18-count.

    4) Night Flight looks like it’s more than just tent stitch, which is my usual concept of needlepoint! What other stitches are involved?

    Have to chuckle at your comments about cross stitch. Actually, it does get boring after a time, which is why I like to work the very complicated patterns — they keep me interested.

    I hope that dawn DOES happen to the Stitching Garden, since I would like to see what you are working on. Meanwhile, I should post some of my own needlework on my blog — I keep forgetting you can do this with blogs.

  2. Catrin says:

    1. I am actually altering All Things Bright and Beautiful – I will never have time to finish it if I don’t. There will be the first two lines of text, the first row of creatures, then a line with the baby’s name this is being stitched for – and perhaps a couple of other creatures if there is time.

    3. That isn’t my problem with the Christ the Teacher icon – I just have so many things going on that have a deadline, where stitching is concerned, that my own stuff gets put on the back burner….

    4. Needlepoint is far from being just tent stich these days πŸ™‚ Her designs have such wonderful textures and resemble stained class in that she may have upwards of 30 or more stitches in a single design. Many general embroidery stitches, these days, have counted “versions”, so to speak.

    When I get around to it, I will post the FOUR Group Correspondence Courses I have signed up for 2006 via Cyberstitchers – my Embroider’s Guild Chapter… there is a reason I am contemplating the blackwork πŸ™‚

  3. Mimi says:

    Ooooh! Dawn on the Stitching Garden! I’m so excited!

    The projects sound incredible.

  4. Mary Lou Heinig says:

    Catherine, this has to be short as I am getting ready to go away for a couple of days but are you needlepointing on a regular basis? I am looking for someone to blog with that is needlepointing as I on –I am addicted to it! Have lots of projects going.

Comments are closed.