New project!

Now that the first month of the year is over, I have resisted that new project long enough. Last November I kitted up “Night Flight” a design by Amy Bear and can be found here. I would post the picture here but it is quite large – and I haven’t asked her permission yet.

There is something about this time of the year, especially this time of the year, that I love to start new projects – particularly one with speciality fibers. Night Flight is stiched with all Caron Watercolours, (this page may take some time to load, and the chart doesn’t give a great idea of the true beauty and softness of these fibers, but it helps), they are variegated, very soft cotten fibers and very beautiful. There is nothing wrong with good old standby DMC .25/skein floss but it is such a pleasure to work with other fibers as well. I love silk as well, though I tend to limit silk to embroidery – though there are silk blends for counted work.

So this brings my current WIP (works in process) count to 3, and with one more waiting in the wings – as soon as my priest gets the velvet and design to me. 3-4 seem to be my usual number of projects actively in process. I won’t mention the UFOs (unfinished projects).

What is the difference between a WIP and UFO? If there is a stitcher in your life his or her definition may well differ, but to me the difference is a WIP is being actively worked on and will be finished. A UFO is something that I have stopped working on and will never finish. Why do I keep UFOs around? That is a good question – they take up space, etc., but there is an aversion to get rid of any needlework project – even if I know it will never be completed. With any hobby there is at least a small touch of obsession, and this is probably where that comes into play 🙂

I do try to keep things in reason however, I have a new rule that if I know I won’t be able to start a project within a few months, I hold off on getting it. Good charts, chart packs, and the fibers needed for them can be very expensive… (though I have been known to make exceptions to this rule 🙂

One thought on “New project!

  1. Philippa says:

    Oh I have 2 UFO’s, though one of them I will probably finish because it is small. The other one was supposed to be a baby gift and now the “baby” is 5! It was just too overwhelming to do and then I started having trouble seeing the pattern. It was at that time I realized I needed biofocals!

    Now I am crocheting a baby blanket that must be done in the coming month. Maybe after that I’ll pick up my crosstitch.

    I would love to do work for our church. Maybe someday I’ll ask Father about that. It’s nice to read about your projects.

Comments are closed.