Foot surgery and humility

Recovering from major foot surgery is a great teacher of humility. There is something about living alone and being told your foot can’t touch the ground for 6 weeks, so you hop around the apartment on a walker, long-suffering parish friends come to help you to and from church. Suddenly those 12 steps to get to the door of the church seem like Mount Everest, though Mount Everest may be less difficult to climb than those 12 steps. Other parish friends help with a wide variety of daily chores that you never dreamed of not being able to do for yourself.

From the walker eventually to a walking boot and crutches, and while things are getting easier, you can’t actually carry anything with crutches… and so the process continues. I tend to be rather stubborn, independent and set in my ways all this just blew all of THAT right out of the water.

Currently I have progressed to a cane, and am transitioning out of the walking boot into an ankle brace and over-large gym shoe. Full healing won’t come for another 3 months, but this is certainly the right part of the healing stage to be in, swelling is going to continue to be a major problem. The next step is to learn how to stand…. we tend to not sit much during our services. Certainly no one has a problem with me sitting in church, but it just doesn’t feel right to not stand – especially in certain parts of the Liturgy. However, God knows why I am seated, and I can only take this one day at a time.

There is a line in Psalm 50 that now gets my attention more than it once did … “Let the bones you have crushed rejoice again…” Times like this are often lesson times about far more than physical injuries that need repairing. 10 weeks alone in an apartment is a great retreat, even if a bit forced. Hopefully some of the lessons have sunk in and I will come out of this a little kinder and wiser than when I went into it.

That is enough rambling for today, next time it is back to the needlework 🙂

2 thoughts on “Foot surgery and humility

  1. Christy says:

    Catrin, you didn’t tell us about your foot surgery on “Joy of all who sorrow” or else I missed it. Sounds major. Hope you get to feeling better.’
    I’ll bet it is a lesson in humility. Sorry about that. Love your blogs. I’m new to this.

  2. Catrin says:

    No, I didn’t say anything about it on the list – mainly because it was just too painful to be at the computer desk for more than a few minutes at a time. I will catch you up on the list about it over the next couple of days.

Comments are closed.