Old men sending young men to war…

When did my nephew grow up? When did the string-bean of a child become heads and shoulders tall over his sister (who towers over me, her ancient aunt). He looked like a soldier when they swore him into the Army. Sometime later, after boot camp, he was 35 pounds lighter and looked MUCH closer to a boy than when he went in.

For some reason I can’t forget a line I read someplace about old men sending young men to war, and unless something happens, he will be headed to either Iraq or Afghanistan someime in 2009.

I think that I’ve posted about this before, and please don’t get me wrong, I am proud of him. He has no idea what he has gotten himself into, but things will now happen as they will. He just looks too young, dressed in all of that military garb, to be anything other than a boy playing at being a soldier. May he, and all of the members of his unit, return home safely. Of course anything can happen between now and next spring/early summer.

Se, we should all pray for all of the sons and brothers that are in the military, and hope for a time when the old men, everywhere, will stop sending the young men to war. Probably not much hope of that in this life, but it is a hope and a prayer.

3 thoughts on “Old men sending young men to war…

  1. Mimi says:

    Lord have Mercy, Lord have Mercy, Lord have Mercy.

    It is an issue near and dear to my heart as I have a 17 year old son.

  2. Mrs. Mutton says:

    At least these kids don’t have to face a draft, as we did when we were young. I remember wondering, when the war in Iraq started, if a draft would be reinstated, as every single member of my family now has a draft-age son or grandson.

    I’m not sure I agree that old men send young men to war, though. Old men who have been through a war remember the details that few of us know, and generally will do all they can to *avoid* war. But when the bullies of this world won’t play by the same rules as the rest of us, what other option is there?

  3. Catrin says:

    I wasn’t making a judgment on the current war, I was making a comment on war. Especially by those countries who force the issue by being bullies – to carry forward your analogy.

    I see immature young men enlisting in the military who have totally romantic ideas of what it will be like to be in battle; of course there is no way of knowing until one is in the middle of it.

    I am not anti-military, and I actually think the military will be good for my nephew if he makes it through his overseas duty next year. The military is very good at taking immature young men and turning them into men. It is commendable that there are so many willing to volunteer to serve their country in such times.

    I just hope and pray for a time when there will be more war. Frankly, I don’t see this happening this side of the Second Coming, but it seems a good thing to wish for.

Comments are closed.